Morning Peace…

I remember what it was like to start my day 25 years ago.

Hit snooze three times, jump out of bed, quick-start the coffee, grab a rushed shower, gulp down the first cup of coffee while waking three little girls up, scurry around dressing everyone, pack lunches, second cup of java, fix breakfast of poptarts, dash to meet the school bus, strap the baby in the car seat, and possibly shoot up a prayer on the way to the sitter, “Lord give me patience, help me make it through this day, help me to be a good mom and wife”.

All of that was in a two-hour time period before I got to work!  That was a typical beginning to a very rushed and stressful day.

Oh how I wish everyone could have the mornings that being 49andcounting brings.  I wake at 5:30 without an alarm, it’s just when my bodies natural time-clock goes off.  I roll out of bed and start the coffee.  And when it’s done, I move outside.   I sit, and read, and pray.  I soak in the cool mornings, the birds singing.  I’m awed by God’s wonders, the clouds, the trees, the mist rising off the ground.  I rest in His presence, I am filled with peace and thankfulness.  How I wish every 25 yr old mom could have this, but I know it will come.  And what I can do is to pray for all of those rushed mamas.   One of the many pleasures of being 49andcounting.

About 49andcounting

Hi! I'm a mom, wife, grammy, sister, friend at that OVER 60 age!! (Okay, since I started this a few years ago...well, add a bit to 49andcounting!) How the heck did I get here so fast?!? I love, love, love- my girls, antiques, rural America, history, Jesus, junkin,the lake and my Big Boy...not particularly in that order. It's about time I change this profile a bit. After a year or living in our 5th wheel in beautiful Pennsylvania, My Big Boy and I are back to the Kansas Prairies. And there's just nothing like "Home Sweet Home". Hitting the Big 50 has its own unique, well...let's say...blessings :) So come along, laugh with me...cry with me...praise God with me...and let's do this 49andcounting thing, together!
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment