A Day That Counts…

When one gets to be 49andcounting, I believe we begin to ask ourselves some very deep questions. (well, deep for me!)  Reflections on life. Have we lived it right? Do we make a difference? What can I do with the years I have left?

I didn’t think about the fact that life here on earth is finite at 20 or 30. (thank goodness I was to busy changing diapers, kissing boo-boos, and cheering at ballgames)  But nearing the big 50, a little bell begins to ring in your head, “there is an end to all of this”. 

 No, I don’t think I’m going to turn 50 and immediately be on a downward spiral towards kicking the bucket. (although at 40 the fallaparts started happening quickly!)  But, at 50, you begin to say to yourself, “chances are pretty slim that I’ll be around for another 50 years”. You start doing the math in your head…”my grandmother lived to 80, my dad lived to 70…” “I think I’ve got another good 25 years-or I could get hit by a truck tomorrow”.   Mortality begins to knock at the door.  Which isn’t a bad thing.  Shouldn’t we all live each day like it’s our last?  Time begins to matter.  Days begin to matter.  Moments begin to matter.

So today, I plan to make a memory.  And tomorrow, do at least one kind thing for someone else.  And the next day, take time to savor the small things.   And the next, and the next…

Because each night, as I lay my head on the pillow I want to say…today was a day that counted. 

 “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal.  But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal.  For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.  Matthew 6:19-21

About 49andcounting

Hi! I'm a mom, wife, grammy, sister, friend at that ALMOST 50 age!! (Okay, since I started this a few years ago...well, add a bit to 49andcounting!) How the heck did I get here so fast?!? I love, love, love- my girls, antiques, rural America, history, Jesus, junkin,the lake and my Big Boy...not particularly in that order. It's about time I change this profile a bit. After a year or living in our 5th wheel in beautiful Pennsylvania, My Big Boy and I are back to the Kansas Prairies. And there's just nothing like "Home Sweet Home". Hitting the Big 50 has its own unique, well...let's say...blessings :) So come along, laugh with me...cry with me...praise God with me...and let's do this 49andcounting thing, together!
This entry was posted in F...F...Fifty, Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Day That Counts…

  1. Val Hanson says:

    Aren’t you TIRED from your evening? How are you thinking this clearly?? Did you have fun? I thought it sounded like a blast. 🙂 Happy birthday. 🙂 Love, Val

  2. Dave Elliott says:

    You know… I was just thinking about this subject a lot lately… we both had this on our minds. I remember after Dad’s stroke he told me that he never became much of anything as a mailman… and I told him that wasn’t true… he was one of the most loved and most respected persons in Phillips County! And we were all so very, very proud of him and how much people loved him and cared about him (and his family)!

Leave a Reply

