Climbing To The Mountaintop…

You are talking to one of the least athletic people you will know.  Somewhere along the line, God gave me a big dose of “spirit”…But not so much athletic ability.

Kodak moment.  I tried Junior High track (although I’ll have to admit,  it was all about boys, the suntan and what everyone else was doing!). Long story short…I remember well, running the 880.  As I made my second lap around the track, the others had finished, the crowd was leaving the stands… And I, gasping for air, was practically walking to the finish line.

That moment, resonates with me now.  Life hasn’t been simple or easy of late.  It’s not been the “leisurely retirement years” I expected at 49andcounting. Life has been a struggle.  Filled with fear, anxiousness, worry, and even a little “why me, Lord?”.   I’ve seen the lowest valley… Or maybe I’m in it.  It hurts, it’s confusing, it’s disappointing and I feel broken.

And I think of climbing the mountains in Colorado.  It’s killer on me.  I huff and puff, stop and rest a lot, and slowly climb my way up the mountain.  It’s not pretty…I assure you.

That dose of spirit He gave me?  It keeps me looking up… It keeps me looking forward… Looking for the mountaintop, looking for the finish line.  Its hurting right now…I can’t catch my breath, my mind and body aches… my spirit aches. But I know that He has more for me.  I know that God is pulling for me, rooting me on.  “Don’t give up… Hold on to hope… Rest in me”.

What’s on the mountaintop?  What’s past the finish line?…I don’t know.  But I do know that it will be glorious.  That a moment will come when I will say…I made it!  I finished!  I didn’t give up!

God has great things for you.  And the harder it is to climb the mountain… The harder it is to run the race… The more amazing it will be when you finish… And you will know who carried you through.


About 49andcounting

Hi! I'm a mom, wife, grammy, sister, friend at that ALMOST 50 age!! (Okay, since I started this a few years ago...well, add a bit to 49andcounting!) How the heck did I get here so fast?!? I love, love, love- my girls, antiques, rural America, history, Jesus, junkin,the lake and my Big Boy...not particularly in that order. It's about time I change this profile a bit. After a year or living in our 5th wheel in beautiful Pennsylvania, My Big Boy and I are back to the Kansas Prairies. And there's just nothing like "Home Sweet Home". Hitting the Big 50 has its own unique, well...let's say...blessings :) So come along, laugh with me...cry with me...praise God with me...and let's do this 49andcounting thing, together!
This entry was posted in Fun. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

