A Few Loose Ends…

For the vast number of you who are interested,(maybe seven or so, including my mom and sister), here are a few updates.

*Okay, we’ve ruled out bear and moose…maybe my imagination was getting the best of me…but I haven’t given up the search.

The “flour circle” trapping method was a flop.  http://wp.me/p16d8h-iF  Add high humidity and some sun and at first you get paste, then hardened crop circles.  Not too pretty in the yard, and I’m telling you they don’t go away quickly.

The real problem was that my “creature” wasn’t visiting on a regular basis.  Every few days, I had garbage strewn across the yard, or a tipped over bird feeder.  The quick answer to that problem was not keeping garbage in the container close to the 5th wheel.   But I have to know what animal is lurking so close to our trailer late at night.

Last night I had a sighting!  Late at night I opened the door, and I saw something dash away from the bird feeder.  I had to wake my Big Boy up!  “Honey, I saw something!”  “Not a bear, but I really don’t think it was a racoon.  It kind of loped away.”  He laughed that irritating laugh (the one that sounds as if he thinks I’m crazy).  “Maybe it was a pole cat.”

Today I’ve browsed the internet, checking to see what cats are in Pennsylvania.  I didn’t really think that Polecats even existed.  And a polecat is not a cat as i think of one.  But…I saw the photos of bobcats and lynx.  Now, maybe I’m on to something!!  My new tracking plan is being formed!  It has to do with making a mud patch around my birdfeeder…wish me luck…I’ll be looking for prints.

*My Kansas sunflower patch is beginning to bloom.  They are not the “giant” sunflowers I was hoping for, but everyday I smile as I look out the window and see this.

*I did find the family cemetery!  With the help of a local farmer and his wife, we jumped in their farm truck and took off over tall grass and hills, and there it was!  Grass as high as the pickup, and just a few old stones I could see, but for a moment, I felt tears well up thinking of how proud my dad would be of me.  This was the Elliott family homestead dating back to directly after the Revolutionary War, how cool was that!  And now I’m becoming a little obsessed with tracking down family history.

This is a photo I’ve been wanting to share with you.  You know my Big Boy and I love to boat, well, this is what you see on the river her in PA.  A barge pushing coal.  We aren’t in Kansas anymore Toto!

Goodness, I believe we are all caught up!  Blessings to you today 🙂

About 49andcounting

Hi! I'm a mom, wife, grammy, sister, friend at that ALMOST 50 age!! (Okay, since I started this a few years ago...well, add a bit to 49andcounting!) How the heck did I get here so fast?!? I love, love, love- my girls, antiques, rural America, history, Jesus, junkin,the lake and my Big Boy...not particularly in that order. It's about time I change this profile a bit. After a year or living in our 5th wheel in beautiful Pennsylvania, My Big Boy and I are back to the Kansas Prairies. And there's just nothing like "Home Sweet Home". Hitting the Big 50 has its own unique, well...let's say...blessings :) So come along, laugh with me...cry with me...praise God with me...and let's do this 49andcounting thing, together!
This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

