My Very Little Piece of Kansas…

Once I got to a spot here in Pennsylvania where I could have a flower garden, I planted sunflowers.  Was so excited to have a piece of Kansas with me.

My first sunflower bloomed, and it’s the saddest looking sunflower I’ve ever seen 🙂 It stands at the back of my flowerbed all by itself, and isn’t over 3 ft high. (I planted the Gigantic Sunflower Seeds!)

Makes me laugh every morning when I look at it.  I love it when God works like that.  I got what I wished for but not in the way I expected.  Not only did He bless me, he gave me joy!

My heart truly goes out to those in Kansas and the drought and extreme heat you are living with everyday. I pray for you daily. The other end of the spectrum is this. I woke today to 93 percent humidity, and is 90 degrees in the heat of the day…try breathing in that!

Wishing Blessings and Joy to all of you.

About 49andcounting

Hi! I'm a mom, wife, grammy, sister, friend at that ALMOST 50 age!! (Okay, since I started this a few years ago...well, add a bit to 49andcounting!) How the heck did I get here so fast?!? I love, love, love- my girls, antiques, rural America, history, Jesus, junkin,the lake and my Big Boy...not particularly in that order. It's about time I change this profile a bit. After a year or living in our 5th wheel in beautiful Pennsylvania, My Big Boy and I are back to the Kansas Prairies. And there's just nothing like "Home Sweet Home". Hitting the Big 50 has its own unique, well...let's say...blessings :) So come along, laugh with me...cry with me...praise God with me...and let's do this 49andcounting thing, together!
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Very Little Piece of Kansas…

  1. notquiteold says:

    Sunflowers will grow here in the East – but maybe not like in Kansas. We have sunflowers every year (I live in Connecticut) and we don’t even have to plant them. We feed the wild turkeys sunflower seeds in the winter. They love them, but they are very sloppy eaters. Every spring, we get sunflowers sprouting where the birdfeeders were!

    • I’m getting there, I now have four beautiful sunflowers…more the size of a pie plate than a dinner plate…but I’ll take any size! I know they grow bigger out here, there’s a house in town with ‘huge’ sunflowers…of course, I mighta forgot to mention I don’t have a green thumb 🙂

Leave a Reply

