Lonely Hearts…

Throughout my life God has opened my eyes countless times to the many hearts that are lonely in this world full of people. I truly believe that many of us who are lucky to be surrounded by family, whether raising kids, or grandkids close by; who are immersed in the constant activity of caring for others, fail to see those close to us who are lonely.
Just lately, these people have been on my heart-

* An older woman, widowed, alone after a lifetime of being surrounded.

* A young man, far away from home in the military.

* A single mom, who’s life seems anything but lonely, until the kids go to bed, and she asks herself “where are my friends?”

An empty-nester, all the kids have left for college, and the house is too quiet.

* A young professional woman, who hasn’t found her right man.

*A wife, who’s husband doesn’t come home most evenings.

Do we take the time to look for these people?  I experienced a time of terrible loneliness. And to the outside world everything must have seemed fine. During the day, while at work, everything was great. I was around people. But first thing in the morning or my evenings, I cried and wondered how I could know so many people, but be sitting there alone. Actually, I’ve even felt lonely lately. In a church pew, with people all around, but not one that I knew, and noone reaching out to meet me.

What I know is this. If you are lonely, reach out. Find that someone who needs you too.  They are out there.  Be the first to make the phone call or visit.  Be the first to introduce yourself.  Don’t just stop with the introduction.  Invite. 

 Another thought that God has placed on my heart lately is to look others in the eye while speaking.  Is my quick handshake, or ‘hello, nice to meet you’, nothing more than that?  Am I looking this person in the eye, and sincerely seeking to know, “how are you?”.  What can I do to reach out?  How can I be God’s tool for ‘loving others’?

If you’re lonely, reach out, seek others, serve others.  And if you’re surrounded, look for others that may need to join you. 

Can this be your Christmas gift to the Christ child, born to bring love to the world?

About 49andcounting

Hi! I'm a mom, wife, grammy, sister, friend at that ALMOST 50 age!! (Okay, since I started this a few years ago...well, add a bit to 49andcounting!) How the heck did I get here so fast?!? I love, love, love- my girls, antiques, rural America, history, Jesus, junkin,the lake and my Big Boy...not particularly in that order. It's about time I change this profile a bit. After a year or living in our 5th wheel in beautiful Pennsylvania, My Big Boy and I are back to the Kansas Prairies. And there's just nothing like "Home Sweet Home". Hitting the Big 50 has its own unique, well...let's say...blessings :) So come along, laugh with me...cry with me...praise God with me...and let's do this 49andcounting thing, together!
This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lonely Hearts…

  1. Val says:

    Been there, too, Michaela. Spot on observations. Being blessed with a family that truly cares for each other helps so much, but I’m always trying to find someone who needs that smile or hello or extra hand. Makes ALL the difference. Enjoy your observations. Keep them coming!! Have a great holiday! 🙂

Leave a Reply

